daatruth.blogg.se

I used to be a human being
I used to be a human being












i used to be a human being i used to be a human being

I'm not sure this is healthy, but I tried your strategy several times and it never worked for me, and this is also in different contexts (e.g. If I am able to glance at the notifications a few times a day instead and occasionally reply on some really high priority stuff, it calms me down because I can get an idea of what has been happening.

i used to be a human being

I found it to be much less stressful than having to wake up in the morning and see the massive burst of activity that happened between 5pm and 8am (especially if your team is distributed across different time zones like mine).Īnd God forbid if I did that when I go on a 2 weeks vacation, I actually wouldn't be able to enjoy the vacation at all because I would always be thinking about the mayhem that's waiting for me on my return. This doesn't mean I actually end up working after hours: in fact, 99% of the times I just skim over the push notifications in a few seconds and go back to what I was doing. Specifically, I personally am able to keep my work stress level in balance just if I have all work communications (especially emails and slack) on my phone, so that I can take a quick look at what's happening even when I'm not working. If you think of norms more as a tool to help you connect with folks that would otherwise be strangers, and less as a "dick-measure contest", they seem lest distasteful, even beneficial.Ĭall me disfunctional or workaholic, but after I tried the strategy you are suggesting I wasn't happier at all. However, they are instrumental in building early relationships and trust with someone who is unfamiliar. They are not terribly helpful with building meaningful relationships (eg close friends, etc), which is why so many dislike them as they seem superficial, which they are. Social norms allow folks who have never met to still know each other to some degree. Saying, "you heard X today, total BS" is far superior than saying "what is X?" Even if you disagree with some social norms, if you don't understand them and the positions behind them, then you can't effectively communicate with new people you interact with. It is fascinating, but these norms are crucial to meeting and interacting with new people.

i used to be a human being

become (and pardon the crudeness) just another societal dick-measuring contest.














I used to be a human being